York Minster

After reading this on Fr. Z’s blog, I jokingly asked my wife if she wanted to fly to England for a couple days to attend. She said ‘why don’t you go?’

Weeelllll – with 2 kids in college, money is a bit tight for something like this – like, real tight. But here’s some of the reasons I’m still thinking about it:

and:

It’s even better in person. When I spent a few hours in York back in ’79, I hadn’t yet heard of St. Margaret Clitherow, so I didn’t visit her shrine in the Shambles (how can you not like a time and place where you could live in an area known as ‘the Shambles’? ) And I get choked up thinking of a high Latin Mass with William Byrd’s Mass for 5 Voices being sung in such a glorious place, one deprived of this musical, liturgical – and sacramental – glory for almost 5 hundred years.

We’re going to see exactly how desperate I am to be there in the next day or so.

And I’d feel real guilty about not taking my wife.

 

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

Leave a comment