1,000.

So this here is blog post 1,000. First off, thanks to my regular readers, who seem to number somewhere in the 30-40 range, for stopping by, reading my humble ramblings, and thus encouraging me to continue. Lots of great comments over the years.

I’ve been at this for 7 years; at it more or less seriously for 4, since November of 2012 – that’s when I started consistently posting 10 – 20 times a month.  100,000 page views seemed in reach as well, but for unknown reasons the number of views is lower this year than last, after years of a steady upward trend. I’ll hit that milestone, such as it is, early next year.

Top posts:

2016-top-posts

One post remain one of the Internet’s preferred sources of analysis on John Donne’s Nocturnal Upon St. Lucy’s Day. The humble write-up assembles in one place a bunch of factoids and conjectures on this poem I’ve never seen assembled in one place before, and which one is unlikely to come across or put together just casually reading. So, perhaps this is my one small service. (1)

Iconography – started out posting quite a bit on this topic, but stopped, because anyone could find out anything I might say on the subject reading any decent book on the topic. I want to be value add in some sense, however little that value might be. I do have vivid memories of the two times I’ve managed to make it to Europe in my life, time I spent gawking at great art. Maybe I should resume, but focus on stuff I saw in person?  That ‘Fra Angelico: Annunciation‘ is one such as that.

Both those top posts got that way without benefit of incoming traffic from links posted elsewhere. The next batch show up because somebody much more widely read than I linked to them:

The World is Made of Styrofoam Balls and Pipe Cleaners  got linked by some grade school science education program somewhere. This is the oddest link, seems to me.

I’d prefer to forget about Vaccines and Autism: This is Starting to Get Really Weird because I mortally offended a Catholic science writer who by all accounts is a perfectly wonderful human being who under any other circumstances I’d have gone to great lengths not to offend. But if I’m going to call out fake/bad science in general, I have an even greater duty to call it out when it’s from one of our own, as it were. Sigh. Got linked from several directions.

Is Adolescence Even Real? was linked by Jen Fullwiler. ‘Nuff said.

My Sagan Obsession has gotten linked to by John C. Wright.

LCWR and Me was also linked to by Jen Fullwiler.

In Memoriam is a page about our son Andrew’s life and death. There is talk among people here who knew him best to present his case to the bishop for being declared a ‘Servant of God’ – we just recently heard about this, as 2017 will be the 5-year anniversary of his death, the earliest this process can begin. All I can say is: wow. God only knows if these efforts will amount to anything or go anywhere, but I’m touched and a bit awed that people are even thinking of it. So, if you feel inclined to pray about this, please do, that God’s will be done.

And so on. After these posts, all time hits drop below 500 on any individual piece. The top post on education history is The Higher Education Mish-Mash. I suppose one of the things I ended up wanting this blog to do was to incite a little interest in the roots of our current educational system. So far, I’m mostly preaching to the choir, it seems, but have had some much-appreciated push-back by a few intrepid souls. As I am wont to say to people: I don’t want you to believe me, I want you to look into it yourselves! I may try to push a little harder (whatever that means) to get more eyeballs on some of the education stuff I hope to be posting on in the upcoming year.

Again, thanks to everyone for reading and encouraging me, commenting and correcting me. I don’t know how close I am to 1 million words on this blog, but I can’t be too far off by now. I’m expecting magic: 1 million words tossed out there, and *boom* – I’m a great blogger.

That is how it works, right?  😉

  1. But seriously, if anyone has figured out what “wither, as to the bed’s feet, life is shrunk, dead and interred’ means, I’m all ears. One can just speculate that Donne had some weird image of all the bedding shoved toward the end of the bed and onto the floor by a restless sleeper, but that makes no sense. I’m betting that ‘bed’s feet’ is some slang or euphemism. Other than that, I think I understand the poem as well as anyone can.  Oh – here’s an idea: does bed’s feet refer to a footlocker or blanket chest, typically kept at the foot of the bed? Then, as winter rolls in, and as all the blankets come out, the things of summer – and love – are packed away – ‘dead, and interred’ – until next spring. This fits nicely with the imagery and thrust of rest of the poem. Maybe I’ll have to update that analysis…
Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

3 thoughts on “1,000.”

  1. Relatively new reader here as well. Reading your comments at John C. Wright’s and TOF’s blogs drew me in, and I am hooked. It was interesting perusing some of your earlier posts. God bless your family and your work.

Leave a Reply

