Election Plans

Fast and pray. Had all kinds of polemical and possibly amusing things to say about this election, but – nah. My heart wasn’t in it. It has come to this.

Tomorrow after work, my wife and I will take out 12 year old to practice, then head on over to the polls, then head on over to a perpetual Adoration chapel nearby to plead for mercy for a while, recognizing and admitting that my sins alone are enough to have allowed the evil we see creep into the world.

You?

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

2 thoughts on “Election Plans”

  1. That’s pretty heavy, man. You don’t have to take the sins of the world on your shoulders – somebody beat you to it.

    Besides, our is a religion of hope. The greater the struggle the greater the glory, and in the really long run whether the world gets better or worse doesn’t count for much. This isn’t our world – we’re just passing through on our way Home.

  2. I’m doing my best to pretend it’s not happening. If I had my way there would be a total news blackout on the election (in my house) and I would find out the result by overhearing people talking about it at work; but my wife isn’t having that. So, the TV will be on and I’ll be holed up in the bedroom.

    Seriously, I’ve been coping by not thinking about it and not following it, because I’m convinced that none of my thinking and worrying and, God forbid, arguing about it will make the slightest difference to the result, so why sweat it? I am praying, of course, but somehow I don’t think God is going to make None of the Above president.

    You’re right about the sins, of course. I confess it’s my fault, or it may as well be. : )

Leave a Reply

