Writing That Novel: Thanks & Progress Report

Something like 150+ people so far have looked at that draft Prologue I threw up a couple days ago, and 6 of you even took time to comment and make suggestions. So, thanks again, that was very kind of you all.

Plus, since you all seemed to think it promising, will proceed with writing.  Here’s how it stands:

  • You’ve all seen the Prologue. Going to let that stew for a while before revisions.
  • I’ve written a draft climax/ending, which of course you all may not see. This is a big deal for me, as, in the half-dozen or so previous times in the last 40 years I’ve tried to write a novel, I soon run into the inevitable problem of not knowing where I’m going and stopping in frustration. Well, at least this time I know where I’m going.
  • Outline is now about 10 pages long. Lots of details missing, but, based on what I’ve seen so far, it looks to be a 300-400 page project. Doable? Heck if I know.
  • Have a small mountain of research assembled, including a couple books. Need a lot more. I really need a sort of discipline I’ve never had: to dig into a subject just enough to get what I need and no more. This will be a challenge. (When in business school, got a lot of fascinating reading done in the Cal State SF library, practically none of which had the slightest thing to do with the homework I supposedly was working on. I’m a bad, bad student…)
  • When I thought about it, I realized this whole thing traces back to a paper I wrote for a science class back when I was 15-16 years old, based on an essay by Azimov concerning the very weird nature of biochemical isomers. (I got an ‘A’).  I’m guessing it’s probably stewed enough?

Anyway, after I get happy with my climax/ending, I’ll go back to the beginning and write more chapters of approximately similar length and throw them up here, for as long as you kind folks will keep on humoring me.

Thanks again!

P.S. One weird thing, at least weird to me: I live inside my own head (duh) and dream up odd and convoluted scenarios that might make a story – always some weird technical thing I half understand. But when I write, what I like writing is dialogue and people. But that’s never what I think of until I’m actually writing. Weird, huh?

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

2 thoughts on “Writing That Novel: Thanks & Progress Report”

  1. Sounds like you’re an odd hybrid between a plotter (outline, know where it’s going) and a pantser (you sit down and the story comes out, leaving you flying by the seat of your pants). If you haven’t seen it, the https://madgeniusclub.com/ might be a resource for you. In fact, today’s post from Sarah Hoyt talks about how to do targeted research.

    Good luck!

    1. Thanks, I do read Sarah Hoyt’s and the Mad Genius Club blogs.

      I don’t know if I’m a hybrid anything at this point – if I ever get it written, then I’ll be *something* but only in the telling will that something be revealed. I do know that, if I just start writing, it better not be much more than a couple pages long, or I’ll get lost; yet my best laid plans, such as they are, don’t seem to often match what I write, which tends to bring it back to problem A. So, we’re trying a ‘not too much detail’ outline with a beginning and ending written first. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

