Essential Sci Fi Reading: JCW’s Top 50 Authors & the 1st & Last 20 Hugo Novels

Having been shamed by the lack of breadth in my Sci Fi reading, I’ve decided to take a stab at collecting and reading two sets of works that are representative of the best in Science Fiction. To that end, I’ve created two new pages on this blog:

  1. The Sci Fi Reference Library Project

Here are the essential 50 Sci Fi authors and their 116 key works, as proposed by John C. Wright. This page tracks my progress getting copies and reading them.

2. The 1st and last 20 Hugo Award winning novels.

Pretty self-explanatory.

Anything to delay getting back to Hegel. Sigh.

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

2 thoughts on “Essential Sci Fi Reading: JCW’s Top 50 Authors & the 1st & Last 20 Hugo Novels”

  1. Forgetting essential works, here are the authors I’ve read…

    Wells: Kind of. I’ve heard the “War of the Worlds” radio play, which was pretty much an audio novel. So I’m counting him.

    Shelley: Yes. I liked “Frankenstein”.

    Verne: Kind of. I’ve read him and liked him, but not his sci-fi. “Around the World in 80 Days” is great fun, though.

    J.L. Borges: Kind of. At least one of his short stories.

    Orwell: Yes, but not “1984”, just the excellent “Animal Farm”.

    Huxley: Yes. “Brave New World” rules.

    Lovecraft: Tried him and couldn’t get through him, but I’m going to try again one day.

    Asimov: Big Asimov fan, so definitely.

    Heinlein: “Starship Troopers” rules.

    C.S. Lewis: My favorite author, so yes.

    Clarke: Kind of. Two short stories. I must read at least one of his novels.

    Ellison: Yes, and even the listed work, as well as “I Have no Mouth” and “Paladin of the Lost Hour”. I liked him, but I do agree that he’s overrated.

    Dick: Yes, “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” Good book.

    Bradbury: Kind of. A single short story, plus I started “Fahrenheit 451” but didn’t get very far. I plan to finish it, though.

    Miller: Yes, and “Canticle” is the greatest sci-fi novel of all time.

    LeGuin: Kind of. A short story only.

    Wolfe: Kind of. “The Sorcerer’s House” was okay, but not sci-fi. I own and have started his New Sun series but did not get very far.

    17 of 50. I thought I’d be worse. Too many “kind ofs”, though.

Leave a Reply

