A Few Observations

Yes, I’m crass enough to notice page views.

1. I hope you’re sitting down – detailed posts on Hegelian philosophy do not generate the number of page views one might hope. It’s like people don’t even care. Perhaps the souls of people who don’t view those posts are in a better place than mine – easy to imagine – and they don’t need the years off Purgatory?

2. I may be the web’s go-to guy for analysis of John Donne’s poem “A Nocturnal Upon St. Lucy’s Day.” Google has me in the top 6 results, in there with actual scholars and stuff. Also, a surprising number of people seem to wander over to view a post about the Fra Angelico’s Annunciations (there are 2) in San Marco’s in Florence. True story: my wife and I saved up money the first year after we married and took a trip to Italy – Rome & Florence, really. It was fun. We were two of only a handful of people in San Marco’s, and I, still only a couple years removed from art school, was giving – you’ll find this completely hard to believe – a little running lecture to my bride on the images in the brother’s cells. Soon, I noticed a small clot of tourists following us around – I apparently missed my true calling as an English-language Italian tour guide, which would work as long as the tours were of the tiny handful of things I know anything about, sort of like St. Joseph of Cupertino’s oral examination question.

At the end, we had a brief, fun discussion with an elderly German couple who seemed to enjoy my blathering. Elderly meaning about the age I am now. Sheesh.

3. But the winner, at least for as unfocused and cat-picture-free a blog as this one, it to review books by people other than Hegel.

That reminds me – got some Flynn and Wright beckoning from the book pile. It’s about time to read them.

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

2 thoughts on “A Few Observations”

  1. That is so cool about the tourists following you around. What a stud.

    Once during a homily, the priest at my church couldn’t remember the name of some Old Testament king, and by coincidence it happened to be within a couple of chapters of where I was in my year-long trek through the Bible, so I knew the answer. The priest kept saying “Hmm, now what was the guy’s name, was it …? No, not that ….”, and I was just itching to shout it out. Finally a Joseph-of-Cupertino-esque miracle happened: For the first and last time in my experience, he asked the congregation if anyone knew the name of this king, and I was free to shout it out without looking like a total goober. My neighbors and pew-mates were amazed and clapped me on the shoulders and so forth, and I looked like the Bible Scholar of the World.

    If he had asked the question six months later there is no chance in heck I would have remembered the name.

Leave a Reply

