Nickelodeon News Covers Diablo Valley School (Video!)

I’m guessing this was taken off a TV set – the quality, especially the sound, is not too good. But here goes:

A couple of the charming children interviewed are ours: Anna Kate, the beautiful and articulate 17 year old, and David, the 10 year old boy.

You will of course make up your own minds. I merely point out how low stress and articulate the kids are, how confident in themselves. When I first started investigating these schools 20 years ago, I visited one in Sacramento (since closed, alas!) and came away impressed: a little girl, maybe 7 or 8, saw me and my 4 year old son walk in the door, came right up, looked me in the eye and asked: can I help you? She then directed us to the office, and went back to whatever she had been doing. It was her school, she was as much responsible as anybody there, so she helped out a visitor as if it were the most natural thing in the world. Compare and contrast what happens if you walk onto a public grade school campus. After the SWAT team is called off (Just kidding! I think!) maybe an adult would come talk with you, after quizzing you on why you were there where you didn’t belong.

Anyway, if a better copy of the video becomes available, I’ll upgrade this post.

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

Leave a Reply

