Hegel, 2015: This Time, For Sure!

Hegel P of S
This edition right here.

Last year, decided I was going to read Hegel’s Phenomenology of Spirit, as part of my ongoing efforts to understand the people I find myself constantly disagreeing with. Well, that didn’t go so well.

But, down to the last few hours of 2014, started that bad boy – am a couple pages into the introduction! Woo Hoo!

This time, for sure! 2015: get in shape (after a fashion) and read some more Hegel! Keep it simple.

“Must be the wrong hat!”

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

6 thoughts on “Hegel, 2015: This Time, For Sure!”

  1. Aaaaah…Hegel and his dialectic!! Marx was truly his greatest fan-boy. Good read, though. My 2015 reads are beginning with ‘The Ethics of Rhetoric’ by Richard M. Weaver. My head is already twisting in the wind…lol.

      1. Actually you can obtain it from the Hathi Trust Digital Library for free. Lot’s of great philosophical and classical literary works have been digitized there. I highly recommend it for ebooks if you don’t mind reading on the computer.

  2. Oddly enough, the only person I know who has actually finished Hegel was a theologian who, holidaying in Egypt sometime in the late 90s, made sure it was the only thing he had with him to read. And even then he found himself being seriously tempted to learn Arabic instead.

    1. I’ve known a few – all former college professors of mine. We all, back in the day as seniors at St. John’s,, read some Hegel, but the sad truth is we read it after having read a bunch of Kant, and my brain was full. I had no patience for his elaborate way of saying very little, of structuring paragraph so that key word is a pronoun towards the end with a half a dozen possible antecedents, or making cryptic or even nonsensical statements that we were all supposed to go ‘ooh!, aah!’ over or something.

      In short, I did a terrible job, and so now in my old age I’m feeling obliged to figure him out a least a little.

      It’s every bit as much fun as you’d imagine, and I’m not even getting a trip to Egypt out of it.

Leave a Reply

