What We’re Listening To

While the magnum opus on basic economics for Catholics molders in the Drafts folder, let’s talk music!

First up: the sublime Morten Lauridsen. Here’s my current favorite:

Abandon entouré d’abandon,
tendresse touchant aux tendresses…
C’est ton intérieur qui sans cesse
se caresse, dirait-on;
se caresse en soi-même,
par son propre reflet éclairé.
Ainsi tu inventes le thème
du Narcisse exaucé.

Wildness surrounding wildness,
Tenderness touching tenderness,
It is your own core that you ceaselessly caress,
…. as they say.
It is your own center that you caress,
Your own reflection gives you light.
And in this way, you show us how Narcissus is redeemed.

Next, been listening to some Audrey Assad (hi, Renee!). She transcends the praise song form as the sky transcends the earth:

From the love of my own comfort
From the fear of having nothing
From a life of worldly passions
Deliver me O God

From the need to be understood
From the need to be accepted
From the fear of being lonely
Deliver me O God
Deliver me O God

And I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

From the fear of serving others
From the fear of death or trial
From the fear of humility
Deliver me O God
Deliver me O God

And I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

No, I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

This song is a rephrasing and extension of the Litany of Humility, it seems to me.

Finally, our 9 year old really loves this song, which is a great blessing, as 9 year olds are not generally known for the sophistication of their musical tastes. This is pretty cool:

Go buy Scythian CDs. We got to meet the Fedoryka brothers, a couple cool guys. If you like rocking Irish and world music, they’re your cup of tea.

Author: Joseph Moore

Enough with the smarty-pants Dante quote. Just some opinionated blogger dude.

6 thoughts on “What We’re Listening To”

  1. My word, what great picks! Thanks for the links and for introducing me (and the kids) to some terrific artists we hadn’t heard before!

    1. The problem starts with the poet’s name: René Karl Wilhelm Johann Josef Maria Rilke – so, German? French? Spanish? Turns out he was born in – Bohemia. But his native language appears to have been German. He dedicated his French poetry to as Swiss canton.

      So, we have a German-speaking Czech writing in French and dedicating it to a Swiss county-thing.

      Then, the particular poem seems to be suggesting that narcissistic love can somehow be redemptive if only – you hug yourself hard enough? I’m not exactly clear on that.

      Yea, so, OK, a little creepy.

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

