Why Am I Catholic?

On this, the first of the year’s most holy days, Elizabeth Scalia gives her answer. Other Patheos bloggers are likewise answering. While nobody asked me, and I’m not one of those *real* bloggers over at Patheos, here goes:

I am Catholic because the Almighty and Eternal God created me to be Catholic, to be a member of the one Mystical Body with His Son as the Head.

I am Catholic because Jesus, in his infinite mercy, died to save me from my self and from the enemy.

I am Catholic because, in a moment of despair in a life of despair, I cried out, and God rescued me. His Spirit granted me a miracle, wholly unmerited and unexpected,  the truth of which I can no more deny than my very life.

I am Catholic because Catholicism is true, and God has given to me, in His mercy, a thirst for truth that only He can slake.

The Last Supper (1498) Leonardo Da Vinci

Praise the Lord, who has blessed a wretch like me.

One thought on “Why Am I Catholic?

  1. Pingback: The Heavens Proclaim the Glory of God « Yard Sale of the Mind

Leave a Reply

